Introduction to Mindfulness Meditation in Daily Life

20 April – 14 May, 2016

World renowned meditation teacher Martine Batchelor will present a comprehensive teaching on mindfulness meditation. This course will include four hour-long classes, followed later in the week with a live video discussion with Martine. Each class will include a teaching and practical instruction on mindfulness, a guided meditation and exercises for integrating the practice in daily life.

What is mindfulness?

In the first class Martine will explore the meaning of mindfulness and introduce several examples from the early Buddhist tradition. She will look at the tools required to cultivate mindfulness, and the effects of that cultivation. The guided meditation will be mindfulness of the breath.

“To meditate we need to remember to focus on the object of meditation and also to look deeply into the experience. This enables us to be mindful and this allows us to be aware of what is happening in this moment. This in turn enables us to creatively engage with what is happening in the moment and to transform our relationship to it.”

How to meditate?

The second class will present the basis of Buddhist meditation: concentration and inquiry (samatha and vipassana). Martine will look at various aspects of concentration and will suggest an inclusive concentration when practicing in daily life. The guided meditation will be mindfulness of the body.

Mindfulness and compassion

In the third class Martine will look at the connection between mindfulness and compassion. Martine will connect an experiential inquiry of impermanence and suffering to a compassionate attitude in daily life. The practice of the beneficial qualities or sublime states (brahma viharas) — loving kindness, compassion, appreciative joy and equanimity will be explained.

Daily life practice

The fourth class will present different practical ways we can cultivate mindfulness and meditation in daily life, both formally and informally. Martine will look at mindfulness at work and in relationship. She will also explore in detail the importance of meditative listening in our communication. The guided meditation will be on listening to sounds mindfully.

ABOUT MARTINE: Martine Batchelor was born in France in 1953. She was ordained as a Buddhist nun in Korea in 1975. She studied Zen Buddhism under the guidance of the late Master Kusan at Songgwang Sa monastery until 1984. Following Master Kusan’s death she returned her nun’s vows and left Korea. She returned to Europe with her husband, Stephen, in 1985. She was a member of the Sharpham North Community in Devon, England for six years. She worked as a lecturer and spiritual counsellor both at Gaia House and elsewhere in Britain. She is the author of Meditation for Life, Let Go, and Women in Korean Zen (2007) and The Spirit of the Buddha (2010). With her husband she co-leads meditation retreats worldwide. They now live in France.

[ssba]

[raw]COURSE DETAILS:

Dates:20 April – 14 May, 2016

Price:We are offering this course at a special introductory rate of $100.

Each Module will be made available at 2pm EDT (6pm UTC), on the dates specified below. These can be viewed on demand any time after they have been released. The Interactive sessions are live and can be accessed on the dates and times specified below. These are an opportunity for you to engage live with Martine and will be recorded and made available for those who cannot make them.

Module 1 – Wed 20 April Interactive 1 – Saturday 23 April (9am PDT, 12pm EDT, 5pm UK, 6pm CET, 4pm UTC) Module 2 – Wed 27 April Interactive 2 – Saturday 30 April (9am PDT, 12pm EDT, 5pm UK, 6pm CET, 4pm UTC) Module 3 – Wed 4 May Interactive 3 – Saturday 7 May (9am PDT, 12pm EDT, 5pm UK, 6pm CET, 4pm UTC) Module 4 – Wed 11 May Interactive 4 – Saturday 14 May (9am PDT, 12pm EDT, 5pm UK, 6pm CET, 4pm UTC)[/raw]